Onyx Storm Book 3 Empyrean Series Pre-Order Banner

Fourth Wing

Last updated:

Written by: Cory

Fourth Wing, Book #1 Empyrean Series, Rebecca Yarros
AuthorRebecca Yarros
Interior school map designAmy Acosta and Elizabeth Turner Stokes
Interior World map artMelanie Korte
Interior DesignToni Kerr
CountryUnited States
GenreFantasy / New-adult
PublisherRed Tower Books / Little, Brown Book Group
Publication dateMay 2, 2023
ISBNISBN 9780349436999
Pages512 (Hardcover)
Followed byIron Flame


The Fourth Wing is a new adult fantasy novel written by Rebecca Yarros. It was originally published on May 2, 2023. The book is the first in the Empyrean series, followed by Iron Flame, due to be released on November 7, 2023. 

In the novel, young cadets undertake an array of challenges striving to become the elite of Navarre: dragon riders. The chosen ones are pitted against each other in a deadly game of survival where they are forced to bond with dragons. The victor then earns the honour of becoming a dragon rider, securing their place in the Riders Quadrant, along with prestige, power, and the responsibility of protecting the kingdom.


The book is set in the brutal and elite world of Basgiath War College. The protagonist, twenty-year-old Violet Sorrengail, was supposed to lead a quiet life in the Scribe Quadrant, but her mother, the commanding general, has ordered her to join the candidates striving to become the elite of Navarre: dragon riders. Violet, being smaller and more fragile than the others, faces the risk of death as dragons don’t bond to ‘fragile’ humans. They incinerate them. With fewer dragons willing to bond than cadets, most would kill Violet to better their chances of success. The rest would kill her just for being her mother’s daughter – like Xaden Riorson, the most powerful and ruthless wingleader in the Riders Quadrant. Violet needs to use her wits to survive, all while the war outside grows more deadly, the kingdom’s protective wards are failing, and the death toll continues to rise. Meanwhile, Violet begins to suspect that the leadership is hiding a terrible secret.

Author Reviews for Fourth Wing

Nalini Singh describes Fourth Wing as “as compelling as it is deadly…dazzling,” while Mary E. Pearson calls it “a wild, sexy, rollercoaster of a ride.” Lynette Noni finds the book “utterly immersive, fiercely romantic, and unforgivably addictive,” and Tracy Wolff labels it an “unputdownable thrill ride with an epic love story.”

Lexi Ryan praises the book as an “expertly crafted romantic fantasy” that is sure to ignite a new, insatiable fandom. Helena Hunting shares her personal experience, stating, “I devoured every page and fell hopelessly, desperately in love with these characters…Hands down the best book hangover I’ve ever experienced.”

Samantha Young urges readers to move Fourth Wing to the top of their TBR list, calling it an “exhilarating dragon ride of a fantasy.” Rachel Howzell Hall commends Yarros for delivering “gutsy young heroines and sexy bad boys,” while Amalie Howard likens the book to “House of the Dragon meets Divergent in this utterly thrilling, unputdownable new fantasy!”

Publishers Weekly gives the book a starred review, describing it as “the epic tale of a reluctant dragon rider’s coming-of-age with a sexy dark academia aesthetic in her astounding debut fantasy,” and predicts that “readers will be spellbound.”




The Continent is home to two kingdoms, that have been at war with each other for 400 years: Navarre and Poromiel.

Kingdom of Navarre

Kingdom of Poromiel

The Barrens (desert)

Share that Venin and Wyvern are real!

This page contains affiliate links.


Hello! This site is dedicated to the Empyrean Series by Rebecca Yarros. I’ve made this place to explore the rich world of Empyrean, full of characters, theories, and places. Each post is carefully researched and updated with the newest details from the series. This site is also a great spot for discussing theories about the Empyrean Series. 🐉
Read More

Pre order Onyx Storm by Rebecca Yarros today